Death To PIR Halogen Floods!!

Discussions about commercial and domestic lighting fittings and fixtures (not streetlighting).
Tom
ATL Admin
Favourite Manufacturer: Pre 1993 Thorn
Area of interest: Fluorescent and Discharge Lighting
Oldest item: One of a few pip top lamps!

Death To PIR Halogen Floods!!

Post by Tom » Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:35 pm

I know PIR halogens aren't very well liked on here. They've been falling out of favour with me rapidly over the years since, as a lorry driver, I am constantly being dazzled by the sodding things whilst driving at night/early mornings since they are often mounted at cab height!

However, today, my hatred has been well and truly confirmed. My special hatred, my imaginary DEF CON 1! Here's why...

This afternoon I was running behind schedule and hence had to deliver to one of my regular drops in the dark. A tight old place I've been frequenting for around 5 years which involves reversing my wagon down a steep slope between 2 buildings. It is tight but I've got it off to a Tee now. In the dark it was still good as I could still see ok with my reversing lights, until WHAP!!! Bloody 500w PIR flood goes up and totally screws up my vision! Nothing but sudden bright light and pitch black shadows which totally hindered my manoeuvre! Unloading wasn't much better in this light either. Just shadows and the bloody thing kept going out after 10 secs.

These lights really are totally unsuitable for commercial use in my opinion. I even had a rant at my customer and told him he should get some proper outdoor lighting installed! 70w SONs sprang to mind! Upon leaving site, I was very tempted to edge my lorry towards the offending light and tear it off the wall as I drove off but my better judgement kicked in! Incidentally , I have seen many an outdoor fitting from walls by HGVs!!
I LOVE LAMP!

FrontSideBus

Re: Death To PIR Halogen Floods!!

Post by FrontSideBus » Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:58 pm